Is Leetcode Premium worth it?

I purchased an annual premium subscription last Black Friday. I have been using Leetcode consistently since then.

I paid $129 instead of $159 with the discount, but with the crazy dollar price at that point, it probably wasn't really getting a discount. (It's actually cheaper to buy now with NO discount. So always check your exchange rate!) If you are hesitating to put a huge chunk of money in the American company as I did, then please read the rest of the article and make your own decision as I would like to share my experience using the premium service.


Why should I buy Leetcode Premium?

  1. Once you put money in, you will end up doing
  • paying for an annual service upfront requires not just a lot of cash but also a commitment. The idea that there's no way you will throw away your money for no reason will push you harder to solve problems more frequently. The more you are thriftier, the better result you will get. The human mind is simple. Sometimes you gotta put yourself in poverty to make things happen.
  1. Save time by checking the official solutions
  • The subscription gives you access to official solutions and explanations. I also had doubts about whether solutions were optimal and had to check a dozen posts to see which one had the best answer. It drastically shortened my time by just checking one official post.
  1. Start enjoying problem-solving
  • Solving algorithm problems can be a no-fun headache especially if you are a beginner who is forced to do this nonsense to get a better job opportunity. Getting the quick and best solution will save you time, and if you can get one question done in a shorter period, you will feel less stressed out and more confident, and eventually more enjoyable. It's surprisingly rewarding to get the results quickly and it feels less like a homework.
  1. Optimal ways to solve problems
  • Once you get used to the problems and solve them without getting any help from the solutions tab, then you might start to wonder if there are faster, simpler ways. Very occasionally the official solutions give a genius approach that no users have shared in the free solutions section.
  1. Solve questions based on frequency
  • You can sort the problems by frequency and start tackling the problems that are likely be on the coding test. This is apparently a premium user only feature.

I might self had disliked algorithms so much and struggled to allocate my time daily as I didn't feel confident about it. I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels like this. I knew I had to overcome this hurdle at some point and so I gave multiple tries, but I feel like this has been the best method for me. As one say if you can solve it with money, it's the easiest solution.


How many questions should you solve in Leetcode?

  • Google response:

  • chatGPT response:

If you solve +100 EASY questions, you will get the hang of it. After reading the google response, I decided to start solving medium questions and aim for +300 questions. How are your algorithms journey going? Please share!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Christy Choi by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!